Stepping Down From Harlem Capital

John Henry
2 min readFeb 17, 2020

Today I announce my departure from Harlem Capital. It’s been an incredible journey of breaking barriers and blazing trails for investors and entrepreneurs of color — a journey I’m very proud to have been a member, partner, and founder of.

When I joined in 2017, Harlem Capital was an angel syndicate writing small checks with big dreams. It was the seed of something I knew could be special, with a team of exceptionally talented brothers who were all driven to make meaningful economic change for minorities.

Looking back, our initial goal of raising a $1mm angel fund looks modest in comparison to what we were able to achieve in a short time: A $40.3mm diversity-focused VC fund, backed by premier institutions and top financiers in the industry.

There were no shortcuts. Every Monday night we had our 2, sometimes 3 hour weekly meeting like religion. We juggled businesses, side hustles, and for the other guys school, jobs, and marriages, all while sourcing deals and setting the stage to start our raise.

We got battle-ready for the fundraising road ahead, refined our pitch deck (we went to market on v107 — literally), stress-tested our assumptions, and practiced many late nights.

On the fundraising trail, we took 250+ meetings with prospective LPs, screened 750+ deals and made over 10 investments from the fund.

And our work was recognized. We made every top business list we could think of: Forbes 30 Under 30, Inc 30 Under 30, Root 100, Ebony Power 100; I made the Adweek Creative 100. We pitched an LP on my television show ‘HUSTLE’ and viewers internationally got a glimpse into our world.

I learned a great deal being part of this team. Made memories that will last a lifetime. Formed a special kind of bond that only partners of a like-mission will know. Put my own little touch in the firm’s DNA. And ultimately, served passionately until I contributed all I felt I was meant to.

Forever grateful for this experience and to the team. I have no doubt that Harlem Capital will succeed in changing the face of entrepreneurship.

Let’s all wish Henri, Jarrid, Brandon and the Harlem Capital team continued success.

With love,

John Henry

--

--